Mystical & Mysterious

How far would you go to find where you belong?


He’s a strong man in pain.
She’ll cross a universe to find where she belongs.
Together they’ll save a world … and each other.

Waterspell epic fantasy by Deborah J. Lightfoot. To find where you belong, would you cross the void and move in with a warlock? "A riveting series. Captivating and complex."
Waterspell: The Complete Series by Deborah J. Lightfoot

Making a place for yourself in a world where you don’t belong takes courage. So does moving in with a warlock. Especially one who is a cauldron of seething anger on his worst days … half mad on his best … who is thinking, perhaps, of killing you. And you can almost understand why he would do it. But you’ll fight to stay alive. Because maybe—just maybe—you’ve found the place where you belong: On his world, in his magic, saving the warlock from himself.

WATERSPELL (Boxed Set: Books 1–4) tells the story of the lost traveler Carin, who is drawn into the schemes of a hot-tempered, emotionally damaged wizard. Does he view her as nothing more than an expendable weapon in his fight to save his world from lethal alien plagues? Or will Lord Verek find himself wavering, when it comes time to dispose of his fiery water-sylph?

Waterspell epic fantasy by Deborah J. Lightfoot. What readers say: "A riveting series." "Marvelously complex." "Intriguing characters." "Well plotted." Available wherever books are sold.

Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock
Drawn into the schemes of an angry wizard, Carin glimpses the place she once called home. It lies upon a shore that seems unreachable. To learn where she belongs and how to get there, the lost traveler must decipher the words of an alien book, follow the clues in a bewitched poem, conjure a dragon from a pool of magic—and tread carefully around a tortured, emotionally scarred sorcerer who can’t seem to decide whether to love her or kill her. “This book made me FEEL – and strongly! I also loved that this story was so completely unpredictable. It’s one that I’d find hard to forget.” —Ali’s Books

Waterspell Book 2: The Wysard

Waterspell Book 2: The Wysard

After blundering into the last stronghold of magic, Carin discovers that she is right to fear the wizard Verek. He is using her to seal the ruptures in the void, and she may be nothing more to him than an expendable weapon. What will he do with her—or to her—when his world is again secure? Or has he erred in believing that the last bridge has been broken? The quest may not, in fact, be over … and Lord Verek may find himself not quite as willing to dispose of his fiery water-sylph, Carin, as he once believed himself to be. “If you like epic fantasy that sweeps you to amazing, immersive worlds and while following intriguing characters, be sure to add this series to your to-read list.” —Once Upon a YA Book

Waterspell Book 3: The Wisewoman

Waterspell Book 3: The Wisewoman

Plague and pestilence have come to Ladrehdin. With their worst fears realized, Carin and Verek set out to put right everything that has gone so badly wrong. On the final leg of their quest, they retrace Carin’s journey north from the plains—accompanied this time by the village wisewoman, Megella. Along the way, Meg dredges up—from an increasingly unreliable memory—the oldest of the “old stories,” revealing how the actions of the Ancients continue to menace every life on the Wizards’ World, and beyond. “The writing is absolutely fantastic with so much detail and description. The imagery was so vivid that I felt like I could see this mystical world forming around me.” —Laura Hartley, “What’s Hot?”

Waterspell Book 4: The Witch

Waterspell Book 4: The Witch
In the House of Verek, it’s five years later. The waters are troubled. Memories are darkening. If the story is to end “happily ever after” for Carin and Verek, old demons must be laid to rest. Readers of the Waterspell fantasy series will welcome the long-awaited fourth book for the answers it provides to questions raised in volumes 1 through 3, not least: Did the necromancer die in the jaws of Carin’s conjured dragon? Remember: there was no blood in the water. This question and many others are answered in Book 4: The Witch, which picks up the story of the lovers, Carin and Verek, half a decade after readers saw the pair separated in the closing chapters of the original trilogy. By the blood of Abraxas, it’s about time we learned what happened next!


The Karenina Chronicles: A Waterspell Novel by Deborah J. LightfootThe Karenina Chronicles: A Waterspell Novel
In the grip of a grief-fueled wanderlust after the death of her Earthly husband, Lady Karenina of Ruain—Nina to family and friends—escapes into unfamiliar lands, a harsh and distant country peopled with enigmatic characters: the Leviathan, the Nomad, the Outcast, and the Wolf. In their company she finds adventure, danger, champions, and rogues—some of the latter worth killing, but at least one worth loving. “Another great read! It’s been a long time since I've been so engrossed with a series.” —ARC reader

The Karenina Chronicles: A Waterspell Novel by Deborah J. Lightfoot. What readers say: "Excellently written." "Couldn't put it down." "Wonderful characters." "What a journey!" Available wherever books are sold.

About the Author

Deborah J. Lightfoot got attached to history through her grandfather, a High Plains cowboy. From her mother, an artist and avid reader, came her love of books and all things mysterious and magical. Deborah has had a fondness for dark horsemen since Richard Boone’s Paladin rode through TV landscapes wielding a six-shooter instead of a sword. Six-shooters figure in her award-winning books about the American Southwest: Trail Fever (William Morrow) and The LH7 Ranch (University of North Texas Press). Swords and sorcery provide the thrills in Waterspell, her “life-changing obsession” (at least, it changed Deborah’s life, turning her into a novelist). A journalism graduate and an Authors Guild member, she has freelanced in educational publishing. Besides writing, editing, and devouring books, Deborah’s pleasures include traveling abroad (when permitted) and hiking the Yorkshire moors, Canada’s Pacific Rim National Park, and while living in Mexico part-time, that country’s La Primavera Bosque.

Available from any bookseller. For details, please see Where to Buy on this website.

Book 1: The Warlock
Book 2: The Wysard
Book 3: The Wisewoman
Book 4: The Witch
The Karenina Chronicles: A Waterspell Novel

Waterspell: Epic fantasy for lovers of gothic literature